Santa Rosa Symphony Classical Series – Exhilarating Journey

Sat, November 4, 2017, 8:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Saturday, November 4, 2017 8 pm
Sunday, November 5, 2017 3 pm
Monday, November 6, 2017 8pm

Mei-Ann Chen, guest conductor
Nareh Arghamanyan, piano

SHOSTAKOVICH: Festive Overture
TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Concerto No. 1
JENNIFER HIGDON: blue cathedral
MENDELSSOHN: Symphony No. 4, Italian

Music Director Candidate Mei-Ann Chen conducts a symphonic journey spanning 160 years, which includes Mendelssohn’s exuberant Italian Symphony, Tchaikovsky’s monumental Piano Concerto No. 1, featuring the wildly imaginative Nareh Arghamanyan and Shostakovich’s Festive Overture, a joyful time capsule of the October Revolution. Higdon’s blue cathedral contrasts the older works with a touching, personal tribute to the composer’s sibling, which contemplates the subject of life itself.

Green Music Center – Sonoma State University

1801 E Cotati Ave

View on Website