From Russia with Love – Santa Rosa Symphony

Sun, May 5, 2019, 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Bruno Ferrandis, conductor
Olga Kern, piano

STRAVINSKY: Scherzo fantastique
SHOSTAKOVICH: Piano Concerto No. 2
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 5

The Symphony welcomes the return of Conductor Laureate Bruno Ferrandis for this Russian-themed program. Stravinsky’s bright and festive fairytale-like Scherzo fantastique buzzes with exotic tone colors and perpetual motion. Olga Kern charms with Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 2. Written as a playful birthday present for his 19-year-old son, it brims with ebullience, tenderness and humor. Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5 carries us through an emotion-packed soundscape of luscious Slavic folksongs, melancholy melodies, lilting waltzes and tempestuous drama before blazing to victory.

Conductor Laureate Bruno Ferrandis returns for Stravinsky’s fairytale-like Scherzo fantastique, Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 2, with acclaimed pianist Olga Kern and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5.

Tickets are $24-$87 Sat/Mon and $25-$87 Sun. Free ticket for one youth (12 and under) per paid adult ticket. (call 707-546-84272 to redeem)

Green Music Center – Sonoma State University

1801 E Cotati Ave

View on Website